AARWBA 50th Anniversary Logo
American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association, Inc.
"Dedicated To Increasing Media Coverage of Motor Sports"

Legends in Racing All-America Team Banquet Programs
Angelo Angelopolous
Gorsline Scholarship Special Awards Jigger Award
AARWBA Officers Membership Application
& Renewals
Member Services
(Members Only)
Overpeck Scholarship White Paper Newsletter
(Members Only)

Angelo Angelopolous Award

Angelo Angelopolous was the sports writer at the Indianapolis News and loved the Indianapolis 500 race. He wrote the book on Billy Vukovich.

The memorial trophy that resides at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum, bears his name and inscription "Sports was his life, and sportsmanship his love. Presented to the 500 Race Participant who best Exemplifies the Creed of Good Sportsmanship!"


1963Allen Crowe
1964Bob Christie
1965Jim Hurtubise
1966Joe Leonard
(1967-68 - None)
1969Arnie Knepper
(1970 - None)
1971Gary Bettenhausen
(1972 - None)
1973Wally Dallenbach
(1974-1976 - None)
1977Salt Walther
1978Mike Hiss
(1979 - None)
1980Johnnie Parsons
1981Lindsey Hopkins
(1982-1983 - None)
1984J.C. Agajanian
(1985 - None)
1986Bob Laycock
1987Johnny Rutherford
1989Bill York & Bill Pittman
1990George Moore
1991Jim Gilmore
1992Wayne Fuson
1993A.J. Foyt
1994Dick Simon
1995Jep Cadou
1996Scott Brayton
1997Bob Clidinst
1998Harvey Duck
1999Arie LuyendykArie Luyendyk
2000Chris EconomakiL-R Dick Mittman and Chris Economaki
2001"Dusty" BrandelL-R Dick Mittman and Dusty Brandel
2002"Jigger" SiroisL-R Dick Mittman and Dusty Brandel
2003Dick Mittman, John Paul Jr. and Bill Marvel
2004Shav GlickShav Glick and Dick Mittman
2005Robbie BuhlRobbie Buhl and Dick Mittman
2006Kay Totten and Tim SullivanDick Mittman, Kay Totten and Tim Sullivan - Photo by Kay Nichols
2007Davey Hamilton
2008Jim Wilson
2009Al SpeyerAl Speyer
2010John BarnesJohn Barnes
2011Sarah FisherSarah Fisher
2012Jack MartinJack Martin, Dick Mittman
2013Jan ShafferJan Shaffer, Bob Clindest
2014Sam SchmidtDick Mittman presents Angelopolous Award to Sam Schmidt

Return to AARWBA Home Page

This page last modified 
Site created by Racing Information Systems Copyright 1963-2008 by American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association